Day 4 of 30 Days of Giving Thanks

Day 4: I am thankful for Spanish Class

I’m trying very hard to add a little more work / life balance to my days. Forever I have kicked myself for not speaking Spanish; I mean “Hola” I do live 20 minutes from the Border so it’s not like their isn’t an opportunity to ever speak it. I have a lot of Spanish speaking friends and I hate being the one in the room they have to translate for. So given I am not teaching this semester, I decided to become the student and enroll in a Spanish class. I never expected to love it as much as I do. My teacher, Irene, is fabulous and makes learning a language lots of fun. The San Diego Community College District offers so many wonderful continuing education classes, which is a great way to learn a new craft, a new language or a thousand other things their catalog offers. Twice a week I trot off to City College to learn a little more Espanol –  I’m grateful that I have recommitted to learning. I currently speak Spanishat the level of a toddler but it’s not exactly like I came flying out of the womb with a full head of vocabulary in the English language. These things obviously take time. Given the speed at which I am crafting sentences, my professor certainly has job security for life. This should give her a reason to say Gracias! 

One thought on “Day 4 of 30 Days of Giving Thanks

  1. Thoroughly enjoyed reading about your 4th thankful day. Love your style of writing and sense of humor. The best line of blog “Given the speed at which I am crafting sentences, my professor certainly has job security for life.”

Leave a Reply

